Avi's Watersports Logo
(239) 777-9873
couples on jet skis watching a dolphin

Florida's Boating Safety Course is Required to Operate a Jet Ski

Florida State Law requires anyone born after January 1, 1988, must have a valid boaters’ safety ID card in order to operate a motorized boat or personal watercraft of 10 horsepower or more. The online registration and completion of the boating safety course is easy to do, and once completed, your certificate will be good for 90 days. Here’s how it works:

Step 1: Register online

Step 2: Review the study material

Step 3: Take the exam online

Step 4: After passing the exam, you’ll get your temporary boating certificate

Step 5: Print a copy of your temporary boating certificate and bring it with you so you can present it to your tour guide. 

If don’t pass your exam on the first try, there’s no need to worry - you are allowed to take the exam an unlimited number of times. 

Do You Have to Take the Florida Boating Safety Course Even if You’re an Experienced Jet Ski Driver?

Having to take a boating safety course may seem like a nuisance, especially if you have prior experience on a jet ski. However, it’s required by law in order to keep you, and others around you, safe. Here are just a few of the reasons why taking the boating safety course is a good idea.

Enhanced Safety Knowledge

The course covers key safety concepts, such as navigation and right-of-way rules, essential equipment on board, and how to deal with various maritime emergencies that might occur.

Risk Reduction

Enhanced knowledge correlates to a reduction in accidents, ensuring your experience on the water is not only enjoyable, but also safe.


Legal Compliance

Completion of the course ensures you comply with the legalities of jet ski operation in the state of Florida, avoiding fines or penalties.


Frequently Asked Questions About the Boating Safety Course

No, there is no minimum age, but you do have to be at least 16 years old to drive a jet ski with Avi’s Watersports.
Your certificate will expire 90 days after you complete the course
For everyone’s safety and in order to maintain compliance, all jet ski drivers will be required to show a current boater safety course certificate. If you do not have one, or if you forgot to bring your proof of completion, you’ll need to either reschedule your tour or ride with a certified driver. Keep in mind that we do have a 24-hour cancellation policy.
If you take your course through boat-ed.com, the cost is $$39.95.
You can find a plethora of resources on the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission website.

Contact Us: (239) 777-9873

Open Hours

We offer tours 7 days a week!
Reservation hours are 9am – 6pm.

Tours Depart From:

Goodland Boat Park, 750 Palm Point Drive, Goodland, FL 34140
chevron-downmenu-circlecross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram